


 Please refer to the U S DOL website at: Please refer to the U.S. DOL website at: 
www.dol.gov for complete Federal regulations 
and statutes.  

 For Missouri statutes, go to: www.dolir.mo.gov/ls





Ready to learn
Anxious to gain work experience
 Learn positive work habits

R ibilit Responsibility
 Timeliness
 Honesty
 Teamwork
 Resourcefulness
 Communication
 Decisiveness
 Confidence



Work safety concerns
 Regulate jobs Regulate jobs
 Designate hazardous jobs

Protect workersotect o e s
 Pay
 Work hours

O i Occupations
Quality education

 Complementary to school Complementary to school
 Protect educational opportunities





 Establishes labor standards Establishes labor standards
 Full-time and part-time workers
 Private sector, federal, state, and local government
 Child labor provisionp

• Set minimum ages, hours and prohibited jobs for youth
• Establish hazardous jobs for youth

 FLSA applies if: FLSA applies if:
 Company does >$500,000 in annual business

OR
 Employees engage in interstate commercep y g g

Refer to U.S. DOL’s FLSA website for more information:
htt // d l / / hd/fl /http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/flsa/



Federal 
Current minimum wage = $6.55 per hour 

B i i J l 24 2009 i i $7 25 hBeginning July 24, 2009, minimum wage = $7.25 per hour 

Youth Minimum Wage = $4.25 per hour for first calendar 
 90 days of employmenty p y

No illegal deductions to drop wages below minimum wage 
 property damage
 cash register shortagescash register shortages
 work tools

Most training must be paid

Overtime pay = time and a half the regular rate after 40 hrs worked

No required breaks or lunch periods



Missouri 
Current minimum wage rate = $7 05 per hour (effective JanuaryCurrent minimum wage rate = $7.05 per hour (effective January 

2009)
 Tip wage rate = $3.525 /hr  (+ tips= $7.05)

Youth Minimum Wage = existing minimum wageYouth Minimum Wage = existing minimum wage
 Beginning March 2009, to pay youth $0.90 less than minimum wage, 

employer must write petition to MO DOLIR for consideration hearing 
(Mo Statute RSMo 295.517; New rule HCSR 30-4.060 subparagraph 6)

Beginning July 24, 2009, minimum wage = $7.25 per hour
No illegal deductions to drop wages below minimum wage 

 property damage property damage
 cash register shortages
 work tools



Missouri (cont’d)
Most training must be paid
Overtime pay = time and a half the regular rate after 40 hrs worked

 Under 16 cannot incur overtime

No required breaks or lunch periodsNo required breaks or lunch periods
 Exception = entertainment (RSMo 294.022)

Refer to Missouri’s Child Labor Law:
http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C294.HTM

Refer to Missouri’s Wage & Hour Statute:
http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C290.HTM



 Federal and State Child Labor Laws
 Differences

• Ages
• Hours
• Work restrictions
• Hazardous work

 When  federal and state law apply but do not agree 
on a specific point, the stricter law applies, but both p p , pp ,
sets of laws must be complied with. 





Federal and State Youth Employment Provisions 
t d t k f l iwere enacted to ensure work for young people is:

 Safe
 PositivePositive
 Complementary of educational process

Serves as a platform from which young workers can 
explore the “World of Work”



Federal Provisions Do Not Include:
 Work permits for minors

 Hours limitated or restricted time worked for minors 16 
years of age or older

 Mandated breaks or meal periods for minors

 Federal law restricts work for youth over age 16 



Missouri Provisions Include:Missouri Provisions Include:
 Minor work certificates/permits

 Limited hours/restricted time worked for minors 14 andLimited hours/restricted time worked for minors 14 and 
15 years of age

 No required breaks or meal periods for minorsq p
 Exception if working in entertainment  (RSMo 294.022)



No child under 14 years of age may be employed y g y p y
or permitted to work at any occupation at any time 
except as otherwise provided in statutes 

 RSMo 294.021

Under age 14 allowed to work only in limited areas
 limited occupations and special conditions (e.g. entertainment)
 jobs during school term with work certificate





Federal 
C rrent minim m age $6 55 per ho r Current minimum wage =$6.55 per hour 
 Beginning July 24, 2009 minimum wage = $7.25 per hour 

 Youth Minimum Wage of $4.25 per hour permitted forYouth Minimum Wage of $4.25 per hour permitted for 
the first calendar 90 days of employment

Missouri 
 Working minimum wage is youth wage

 Current minimum wage = $7.05 per hour (effective 
January 2009)January 2009)
 Beginning July 24, 2009 minimum wage = $7.25 per hour 





 Issued by public school superintendent where youth 
resides

 Includes home schooled youthIncludes home schooled youth

 Transmitted to employer and MO Division of Labor 
StandardsStandards

 May accept summer jobs without certificate
 Exception if business requires certificateException if business requires certificate
 Summer work certificate may be issued as needed

 Youth under 16 years of age may work in the y g y
entertainment industry if the director of the Missouri 
Division of Labor Standards issues the child a work 
permitpermit.



Contain student information
 Name
 Address
 Ageg
 School
 Days/ and hours student may work

Youth provide information (<16 yrs)
 Written consent of parent/guardian for job
 Certificate from principal showing grades Certificate from principal showing grades
 Proof of age (e.g. birth certificate)





From Labor Day to June 1 (school year)
 Up to 3 hours on a school day

 Up to 8 hours on a non-school day

 No more than 6 days a week

 Between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.



From June 1 to Labor Day (summer)
 Up to 8 hours a day

 Up to 6 days or 40 hours a week

 Between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m.p

Under federal law, 14 and 15 year olds may only 
work 18 hours in a school weekwork 18 hours in a school week.





Federal
 In jobs not considered hazardous, FLSA sets normal 

i i t 16 ldminimum age at 16 years old.
 Exceptions to the normal age 16 minimum age

• 14 or 15 year old may work if Secretary of Labor determines work would not y y y
interfere with school, health, or well-being

• Child actors and performers
• Children engaged in delivery of newspapers
• Children working at home

Missouri
 No child under 14 years of age shall be employed or 

itt d t k t ti t tipermitted to work at any occupation at any time

 Exceptions to the normal age 14 minimum age
• Child actors and performersp
• Children engaged in delivery of newspapers
• Casual babysitting



 Kitchen and other work involved in preparing and serving p p g g
food and beverages.

 Work in connection with cars and trucks if cleaning, 
washing polishingwashing, polishing.

 Cleaning vegetables and fruits.

W i li l b li i hi i i d t ki Wrapping, sealing, labeling, weighing, pricing, and stocking 
goods when separate from meat preparation, freezers, or 
coolers.



 Office and clerical work.

 Cashiering, selling, modeling, window trimming, 
comparative shopping.

 Price marking/tagging by hand or machine, assembling 
orders, packing and shelving.

B i d i t t ’ d Bagging and carrying out customer’s orders.

 Clean-up work and maintenance of grounds.





Occupations considered door-to-door sales orOccupations considered door to door sales or 
“street occupation”.

Working with hazardous equipmentg q p
Work using power driven machinery

 except lawn/garden machine in domestic service



Any place sleeping accommodations are furnishedy p p g
 except where physically separated from sleeping areas

Any place where alcoholic liquors are sold and 
d f ti iserved for consumption on premises

 except where at least 50% of gross sales are other than alcoholic 
beverages

Any occupation prohibited by RSMo 294.040 and 
294.043



Work in or about boiler or engine room.
Maintenance or repair of a building or equipment.
Outside window washing that involves working fromOutside window washing that involves working from 

windowsills.
Work requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds or their q g ,

substitutes.
 Work as a lifeguard at a beach.



Any part of the baking process
 no mixingno mixing
 no weighing
 no placing items on trays
 no operating ovens including pizza ovens
 no removing items from ovens
 no finishing

Operate a deep fat fryer requiring users hands toOperate a deep fat fryer requiring users hands to 
raise/lower a basket into/out of oil or grease.

Work in freezers and meat coolers.Work in freezers and meat coolers.



Work requiring the use of power-driven food 
li d i d h tt dslicers and grinders, choppers or cutters and 

bakery mixers.
Performing most work in areas where meats arePerforming most work in areas where meats are 

prepared for sale.
Cooking with rotisseriesCooking with rotisseries.



Work in any occupations declared to be hazardousWork in any occupations declared to be hazardous 
for 16- and 17-year-olds

 Load and unload goods to and from trucks, railcars, g , ,
or conveyors.

Handle/apply pesticides
Drive, ride, or assist in operating a tractor
Drive any vehicle for transporting passengersDrive any vehicle for transporting passengers
Use power-driven equipment 

 e.g. chainsaw, hay mower, hay baler, or cotton picker





Allowable exemption from the law if:
Youth working at a business owned by the parent or legal 

guardian

Youth remains under direct control of parent or legal 
guardian



Missouri law prohibits any individual under theMissouri law prohibits any individual under the 
age of 18 from working as an independent 
contractor.





FLSA gives Secretary of Labor discretion to issue g y
regulations for hazardous occupations for youth.
 Hazardous Occupation Orders (HOs)
 17 HOs pertaining to all industries except agriculture

FLSA prohibits youth under age 18  to work in 
occupations deemed hazardous.
 I i lt th i i f h d k i 16 In agriculture, the minimum age for hazardous work is age 16.



The term “operation“ as used in Hazardous p
Orders (HOs) generally includes the tasks 
of setting up, adjusting, repairing, oiling, g p j g p g g

and cleaning the equipment.



1. Manufacturing or storing explosives 
D i i t hi l d b i t id2. Driving a motor vehicle and being an outside 
helper on a motor vehicle

3 Coal mining3. Coal mining
4. Logging and sawmilling   

O ti d i d ki hi5. Operating power-driven wood working machines 
6. Exposure to radioactive substances and to 

ionizing radiationionizing radiation  



7. Operating power-driven hoisting equipment
O ti d i t l f i8. Operating power-driven metal-forming, 
punching, and shearing machines

9 Mining other than coal mining9. Mining, other than coal mining
10. Operating power-driven meat-processing 

machines, slaughtering, meat packing ormachines, slaughtering, meat packing or 
processing, and rendering

11. Operating power-driven bakery machinesp g p y



12. Operating power-driven paper-products machines, 
scrap paper balers, and paper box compactorsscrap paper balers, and paper box compactors

 except 16 & 17 year olds can load scrap paper balers/paper box 
compactors that meet safety specifications

13 Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products13. Manufacturing brick, tile, and related products
14. Operating power-driven circular saws, band saws, 

and guillotine shears
15. Wrecking, demolition, and ship breaking operations
16. Working in roofing operations g g p

 includes work on roofs

17. Working in certain excavation operations



No employee under 17 may drive motor vehicles p y y
on public roads

 17 year olds may drive under limited 
i tcircumstances

 daylight hours
 less than 20% of job hrs
 seat belts seat belts
 drivers education class

Bans driving cars and trucks for delivery work
Bans driving cars for route sales
Bans driving that involves towingBans driving that involves towing



Bans driving golf carts ATVs and motorcycles onBans driving golf carts, ATVs, and motorcycles on 
public roads

Prohibits the transportation of peopleProhibits the transportation of people
 e.g. cannot work as a bus driver

Bans working as an outside helper on motor 
hi lvehicles
 An outside helper is anyone, other than the driver, whose work 

includes riding on a motor vehicle outside the cab for the purpose of 
assisting in transporting or delivering goodsg p g g g



Bans operation of most power-driven 
woodworking machines

 saws
 stapling machines
 nailing machinesg
 sanders



Bans operation of most power-driven hoisting 
apparatus

freight elevators
Bobcat loaders
cranes
high lift trucks
forklifts 



 Bans the operation of certain power-driven metal-p p
working machines



B th ti f d i t i Bans the operation of power-driven meat processing 
machines (including restaurants and delicatessens)

meat slicers
 saws
meat choppers

 Minors may not use a meat slicing machine even on items Minors may not use a meat slicing machine even on items 
other than meat, such as cheese and vegetables

B t ll ti i t l ht i Bans most all occupations in meat slaughtering, 
processing, and packing



 Bans the operation of power-driven bakery machines
 vertical dough mixers
 batter mixers (including most countertop models)batter mixers (including most countertop models)
 dough rollers
 dough sheeters  



 Bans the operation of power driven paper-products 
machinesmachines
 scrap paper balers

 paper box compactors

 trash compactors



Bans the operation of various types of power-
driven band saws circular saws and guillotinedriven band saws, circular saws and guillotine 
shears, regardless of the items being cut



All k f d h i f lAll work performed at the site of a total or 
partial building demolition

 including clean-up and salvage work

Dismantling of a building, bridge, steeple, 
tower chimney, or other structure

Dismantling of a ship



 Bans all jobs in roofing operations including work 
performed on the ground

dand 
 All work performed on or about a roof



 Bans most jobs in trenching and excavation work Bans most jobs in trenching and excavation work
 includes working in a trench more than four feet deep





 60,000 youth under age18 injured on the job in , y g j j
America each year

About 1/3 of those or 55 000 suffer injuriesAbout 1/3 of those, or 55,000, suffer injuries 
serious enough to require emergency room 
treatment

Sadly, in 2006, 30 young workers died because 
of occupational injuriesof occupational injuries



Employers are responsible for providing a safe andEmployers are responsible for providing a safe and 
healthy workplace for their employees.  

 Promote safety and health
 Safety training for hazards
 Safety equipment

By law, employers are not allowed to fire or punish 
workers for reporting a safety problem.



CookingCooking

Work requiring Personal Protective Equipment 
(PPE)(PPE)

Working with toxic chemicals

Using ladders or scaffolding

U i d i hiUsing power driven machinery

Working in confined spaces



 First Aid/Emergencies
 First aid kits
 Know emergency responder Know emergency responder
 Report injuries
 Know emergency exits

 Burns/Fires Burns/Fires
 Fire extinguishers
 Hot surfaces
 Burn first aid

 Cuts
 Properly clean surfaces of blood
 Protect from blood-borne diseasesProtect from blood borne diseases

 Eye/Ear Protection
 Safety glasses for eyes
 Hearing protection for ears Hearing protection for ears



 Clothing
 No loose clothingNo loose clothing
 No dangling jewelry
 Keep long hair up
 Wear enclosed shoesWear enclosed shoes

 Chemicals
 Precautions in case of spills
 Safety Data Sheets for cleaners Safety Data Sheets for cleaners

 Slips, trips, falls
 Keep floors clean
 Cords and objects on floor
 Signage for wet surfaces



 Electrical Shock Hazards
 Devices and waterDevices and water
 Standing in water

 Machine Operations
 Use of proper guards Use of proper guards

 Manual Lifting
 Proper techniques

L d h k• Legs do the work
• Close to the load with hands under
• Bend with knees
• Head, shoulder, hips straight
• No twisting; turn body
• Stand before lifting
• Push rather than pull
• Get help if heavy



 Violence on the job
 Keep doors lockedp
 Work with others

 Unsafe Conditions
 Report to supervisorReport to supervisor
 Call OSHA

 Emergency Evacuation
 Know emergency exits/routes Know emergency exits/routes
 Learn spill procedures

 Confined Spaces
 Hazardous gases
 Limited oxygen





U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL), Wage and Hour 
Division, FLSA website:

http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/flsa/p g

Missouri Department of Labor and Industrial p
Relations (DOLIR), Division of Labor Standards

http://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/



Missouri’s Statutes: 
Chapter 290Chapter 290

Wages, Hours and Dismissal Rights 
http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C290.HTMp g g

Chapter 292
Health and Safety of EmployeesHealth and Safety of Employees 

http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C292.HTM

Chapter 294Chapter 294
Child Labor 

http://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C294.HTMhttp://www.moga.mo.gov/STATUTES/C294.HTM



USDOL:  Child Labor
www.youthrules.dol.gov

Federal Child Labor LawsFederal Child Labor Laws
http://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/childlabor/federal_child_labor_law.htm

Missouri DOLIR Online Brochures
http://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/brochures/brochures.html

Missouri DOLIR, Division of Worker’s Compensation
http://www dolir mo gov/wc/faq employers htmhttp://www.dolir.mo.gov/wc/faq_employers.htm



Youth Employment
htt // d li /l /f /f ChildL b hthttp://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/faq/faq_ChildLabor.htm

Wage Hours RightsWage, Hours, Rights
http://www.dolir.mo.gov/ls/faq/faq_general.htm

Labor Laws
http://www.dolir.mo.gov/laborlaws.htm



Phone 573 751 3403Phone:  573-751-3403
Fax:  573-751-3721

Email: laborstandards@dolir mo govEmail:  laborstandards@dolir.mo.gov
Email:  childlabor@dolir.mo.gov
Website: www dolir mo gov/lsWebsite:  www.dolir.mo.gov/ls

Contact the Missouri Division of Labor Standards to 
get employee/employer information and answers to 
questions regarding Child Labor Law.



Phone:  573-751-3325
www.dolir.mo.gov/hr

Contact the Missouri Commission on Human rights 
to get information or to make a complaint aboutto get information or to make a complaint about 
sexual harassment or discrimination.



Phone:  800-392-7743 (St. Louis)
800-892-2674 (Kansas City)

hwww.osha.gov
www.osha.gov/SLTC/teenworkers

Contact OSHA for information and questions 
regarding work place safety work related injuriesregarding work-place safety, work-related injuries, 
illnesses, and deaths. 



Phone 314 539 2706 (St Lo is)Phone:  314-539-2706 (St. Louis)
913-551-5721 (Kansas City)

866 487 9243866-487-9243
www.dol.gov

Contact USDOL Wage and Hour for information and 
questions regarding federal minimum wage andquestions regarding federal minimum wage and 
hour restrictions.



National Institute for Occupational p
Safety and Health

Phone: 800-232-4636
www.cdc.gov/niosh

National Young Worker Resource Center Offices
Phone:  510-642-5507
www.youngworkers.org



U.S. DOL Interactive Advisor System:  ELAWSy
(Employment Laws Assistance for Workers and Small 

Businesses)
www.dol.gov/elaws


