WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT PROGRAM

PURPOSE

To provide a federal income-tax credit to businesses for hiring
from the targeted groups with barriers to employment. The
Internal Revenue Service specifies that the State Workforce
Agency (SWA) is responsible for administering the Work
Opportunity Tax Credit Program. In Missouri, that agency is the
Division of Workforce Development of the Missouri Department
of Economic Development.

AUTHORIZATION

Work Opportunity Tax Act of 2007 (PL. 110-28), Tax Relief and
Health Care Act of 2006 (PL. 109-432) and Small Business and
Working Families Tax Relief Act of 2004 (PL. 108-311)

ELIGIBLE AREAS

Statewide.

ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS
Any private, for-profit business. Qualified “tax-exempt”[i.e., 501(c)]
organizations can participate in the “veteran” target groups.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
Qualifying new hires must be from one of these groups:
® Short-term TANF recipients
® 18-39 year-old food stamp recipients
® Veterans receiving food stamps, Disabled Veterans, or
Unemployed Veterans
® Vocational rehabilitation referrals
18-39 year-old Empowerment Zone or Rural Renewal
County (EZ/RRC) residents
16-17 year-old EZ recipient hired as summer employees
Ex-felons
Supplemental security income recipients
Long-term TANF Recipients

PROGRAM BENEFITS/ELIGIBLE USES

For all target groups (with the exception of the Summer Youth
employee, Disabled Veteran, Unemployed Veteran, and long-
term TANF recipient) the tax credit is calculated at 40% of the
first $6,000 of the first year’s wages (for a maximum credit

of $2,400) if 400 hours is reached. For employees who work

at least 120 hours, but do not reach 400 hours, the credit is
calculated at 25% of the first $6,000 of wages (for a maximum
credit of $1,500).

The credit for Summer Youth employees is calculated at 40%
of the first $3,000 of the first year's wages (for a maximum
credit of $1,200) if 400 hours is reached. For employees who
work at least 120 hours, but do not reach 400 hours, the
credit is 25% of the first $3,000 of the first year's wages (for a
maximum credit of $750).

The tax credit for the Disabled Veteran is calculated at

40% of the eligible employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the
first year (up to a maximum credit of $4,800) if 400 hours of
employment is reached. For employees who work at least 120
hours, but less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25%
of the employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the first year (up
to a maximum credit of $3,000).

The tax credit for the Disabled Veteran with Six Months
of Unemployment is calculated at 40% of the eligible
employee’s first $24,000 in wages for the first year (up to a
maximum credit of $9,600) if 400 hours of employment is
reached. For employees who work at least 120 hours, but
less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25% of the
employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the first year (up to a
maximum credit of $3,000).

The tax credit for Unemployed Veteran with Six Months
of Unemployment is calculated at 40% of the eligible
employee’s first $14,000 in wages for the first year (up to a
maximum credit of $5,600) if 400 hours of employment is
reached. For employees who work at least 120 hours, but
less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25% of the
employee’s first $14,000 in wages for the first year (up to a
maximum credit of $3,500).

The credit for the Long-term TANF Recipient is equal to 40%
of the first $10,000 of the first year's wages (for a maximum
credit of $4,000), and 50% of the first $10,000 of the second
year’s wages (for a maximum credit of $5,000). The maximum
amount of credit for the two years combined is $9,000.

FUNDING LIMITS
There is no limit on the number of qualifying new hires per
business or total amount of tax credits distributed per year.

APPLICATION/APPROVAL PROCEDURE

The business will submit Form 8850, “Pre-Screening Notice”

to the Division of Workforce Development. The form must be
postmarked within 28 days of the employee’s start date. The
business will also submit Form 9061, “Individual Characteristic,”
which may be submitted at the same time as the Form 8850 or
at a later date. The Department of Economic Development will
review the Forms 8850 and 9061 to determine the eligibility

of the new hire. (Both forms must be received before the
verification process will begin.) A certification or denial for the
tax credit will be issued by the Missouri Division of Workforce
Development.

The forms may be obtained by contacting the Department of
Economic Development at (800) 877-8698 or by
downloading them from

The credit can be claimed by filing Form 5884, “Work
Opportunity Credit” with the company’s income tax return.

There is no limit on the number of qualifying new hires per
business or total amount of tax credits distributed per year.
In accordance with section 26 U.S.C. 38, the credit has a carry
forward of 20 years and a carry back of one year.

Any proposed amount is an estimate based on the
assumptions provided by the company. Any variation in the
actual salaries or number of jobs retained could affect the
proposed amount and possibly invalidate the proposal. This
summary is for guidance only and does not state complete
program requirements.

CONTACT
Missouri Department of Economic Development
Division of Workforce Development « WOTC Unit
421 East Dunklin « P.O. Box 1087
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573-522-9581 - Toll Free 800-877-8698
Fax: 573-751-9896
Email: wotc@ded.mo.gov
Web: http://jobs.mo.gov/employer/programs-incentives/
work-opportunity-tax-credit-(wotc)

AEAAAAA g ..

Department of Economic Development
DWD-5400 (06-2012)


https://worksmart.ded.mo.gov/includes/secure_file.cfm?ID=256&menuID=5113
https://worksmart.ded.mo.gov/includes/secure_file.cfm?ID=256&menuID=5113
mailto:wotc%40ded.mo.gov?subject=
http://jobs.mo.gov/employer/programs-incentives/work-opportunity-tax-credit-(wotc)
http://jobs.mo.gov/employer/programs-incentives/work-opportunity-tax-credit-(wotc)
http://jobs.mo.gov
http://ded.mo.gov

