
WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT

For additional information about Missouri Office of Workforce 
Development services, contact a Missouri Job Center near you. 

Locations and additional information are available at jobs.mo.gov 
or 1-888-728-JOBS (5627). 

The Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce 
Development is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 

individuals with disabilities. Missouri Relay Services at 711.
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PURPOSE
To provide a federal income-tax credit to businesses for hiring 
from the targeted groups with barriers to employment. The 
Internal Revenue Service specifies that the State Workforce 
Agency (SWA) is responsible for administering the Work 
Opportunity Tax Credit Program. In Missouri, that agency is 
the Missouri Department of Higher Education and Workforce 
Development.

AUTHORIZATION
Work Opportunity Tax Act of 2007 (PL. 110-28), Tax Relief and 
Health Care Act of 2006 (PL. 109-432) and Small Business and 
Working Families Tax Relief Act of 2004 (PL. 108-311)

ELIGIBLE AREAS
Statewide.

ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS
Any private, for-profit business. Qualified “tax-exempt” [i.e., 501(c)] 
organizations can participate in the “veteran” target groups.

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA
Qualifying new hires must be from one of these groups:

•	 Short-term TANF recipients
•	 18–39 year-old food stamp recipients
•	 Veterans receiving food stamps, Disabled Veterans, or 

Unemployed Veterans
•	 Vocational rehabilitation referrals
•	 18–39 year-old Empowerment Zone or Rural Renewal 

County (EZ/RRC) residents
•	 16–17 year-old EZ recipient hired as summer employees
•	 Ex-felons
•	 Supplemental security income recipients
•	 Long-term TANF Recipients

PROGRAM BENEFITS/ELIGIBLE USES
For all target groups (with the exception of the Summer Youth 
employee, Disabled Veteran, Unemployed Veteran, and long-
term TANF recipient) the tax credit is calculated at 40% of the 
first $6,000 of the first year’s wages (for a maximum credit 
of $2,400) if 400 hours is reached. For employees who work 
at least 120 hours, but do not reach 400 hours, the credit is 
calculated at 25% of the first $6,000 of wages (for a maximum 
credit of $1,500).

The credit for Summer Youth employees is calculated at 40% 
of the first $3,000 of the first year’s wages (for a maximum 
credit of $1,200) if 400 hours is reached. For employees who 
work at least 120 hours, but do not reach 400 hours, the 
credit is 25% of the first $3,000 of the first year’s wages (for a 
maximum credit of $750).

The tax credit for the Disabled Veteran is calculated at 
40% of the eligible employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the 
first year (up to a maximum credit of $4,800) if 400 hours of 
employment is reached. For employees who work at least 120 
hours, but less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25% 
of the employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the first year (up 
to a maximum credit of $3,000).

The tax credit for the Disabled Veteran with Six Months 
of Unemployment is calculated at 40% of the eligible 
employee’s first $24,000 in wages for the first year (up to a 
maximum credit of $9,600) if 400 hours of employment is 
reached. For employees who work at least 120 hours, but 
less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25% of the 
employee’s first $12,000 in wages for the first year (up to a 
maximum credit of $3,000).

The tax credit for Unemployed Veteran with Six Months 
of Unemployment is calculated at 40% of the eligible 
employee’s first $14,000 in wages for the first year (up to a 
maximum credit of $5,600) if 400 hours of employment is 
reached. For employees who work at least 120 hours, but 
less than 400 hours, the credit is calculated at 25% of the 
employee’s first $14,000 in wages for the first year (up to a 
maximum credit of $3,500).

The credit for the Long-term TANF Recipient is equal to 40% 
of the first $10,000 of the first year’s wages (for a maximum 
credit of $4,000), and 50% of the first $10,000 of the second 
year’s wages (for a maximum credit of $5,000). The maximum 
amount of credit for the two years combined is $9,000.

APPLICATION/APPROVAL PROCEDURE
The business will submit Form 8850, “Pre-Screening Notice.” 
The form must be postmarked within 28 days of the employee’s 
start date. The business will also submit Form 9061, “Individual 
Characteristic,” which is submitted at the same time as the Form 
8850. We will review the Forms 8850 and 9061 to determine the 
eligibility of the new hire. (Both forms must be received before 
the verification process will begin.) A certification or denial for 
the tax credit will be issued.

The forms may be obtained by contacting the Missouri 
Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development 
at (800) 877-8698.

The credit can be claimed by filing Form 5884, “Work 
Opportunity Credit” with the company’s income tax return.

There is no limit on the number of qualifying new hires per 
business or total amount of tax credits distributed per year. 
In accordance with section 26 U.S.C. 38, the credit has a carry 
forward of 20 years and a carry back of one year.

Any proposed amount is an estimate based on the 
assumptions provided by the company. Any variation in the 
actual salaries or number of jobs retained could affect the 
proposed amount and possibly invalidate the proposal. This 
summary is for guidance only and does not state complete 
program requirements.

CONTACT
Missouri Department of Higher Education and 

Workforce Development • WOTC Unit
P.O. Box 1087

Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: 573-522-9581 • Toll Free 800-877-8698 

Fax: 573-751-9896
Email: wotc@dhewd.mo.gov

 


