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MISSOURI MINIMUM WAGE
In Effect for 2016   

Missouri’s current minimum wage rate is $7.65 per hour. All businesses are required 
to pay at minimum, the $7.65 per hour rate, except retail and service businesses 
whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000. There also are certain classes 
of employees under the definition of “employee” in Section 290.500(3), RSMo, and 
pertaining to agriculture in Section 290.507, RSMo, to which Missouri’s law does not 
apply.

In addition, overtime compensation must also be paid at a rate not less than one 
and one-half times a covered employee’s regular rate for all hours worked over 40 in a 
workweek.

The minimum wage rate may increase or decrease on January 1, 2017, if the cost 
of living as measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI) rises (see Section 290.502, 
RSMo). Missouri law does not allow the state’s minimum wage rate to be lower than 
the federal minimum wage rate. 

The Missouri Minimum Wage Law does not apply to exempt employees/employers, 
and does not supersede more favorable laws or interfere with collective bargaining 
agreement rights.

Tipped Employees
Compensation for tipped employees must total at least $7.65 per hour. Employers 

of tipped employees are required to pay tipped employees at least 50 percent of the 
minimum wage, or $3.825 per hour. Employers of tipped employees must pay more 
than half of the minimum wage to tipped employees if it is necessary to bring the 
employee’s total compensation up to $7.65 per hour.

Records to be kept and retention period
Employers must keep a record of the name, address, and job description of each 

employee, the rate of pay, the amount paid each period, and the number of hours 
worked each day and each workweek (see Section 290.520, RSMo). These records 
must be kept for a period of not less than three years. The records shall be open for 
inspection by the Missouri Division of Labor Standards.

Penalties
Any employer who hinders the Division of Labor Standards’ performance of duties 

in the enforcement of the law by any of the acts listed in Section 290.525, RSMo, is 
guilty of a class C misdemeanor.

An employee may bring any legal action necessary to collect wages owed. An 
employer who pays an employee wages less than what is due under the law shall be 
liable for the full amount of the wage rate and an additional equal amount as liquidated 
damages, less any amount actually paid, and for costs and such reasonable attorney 
fees as may be allowed by the court or jury (see Section 290.527, RSMo).

Complaints
A Minimum Wage complaint form can be filed by visiting www.labor.mo.gov/

DLS/minimumwage. The form may also be printed and be sent to the Division using 
the contact information below. Once the investigation is complete, the employer and 
employee will be informed of the findings.

For more information or to file a complaint:
 

Missouri Division of Labor Standards 
P.O. Box 449, Jefferson City, MO  65102  

Phone: (573) 751-3403 Fax: (573) 751-3721  
Email: minimumwage@labor.mo.gov

Website: www.labor.mo.gov/DLS/minimumwage
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE BENEFITS
Notice to Workers

Unemployment insurance (UI) benefits are provided under the Missouri 
Employment Security Law for workers who become totally or partially 
unemployed, if they meet the eligibility requirements of the law.

No deductions are made from employees’ paychecks for this insurance. The 
employer pays the tax in Missouri.

Visit the Division of Employment Security’s website at www.moclaim.mo.gov 
for additional information concerning UI, to file your initial or renewed claim, and to 
obtain information about a claim already filed. The website is available 24 hours a 
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Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations
Missouri Division of Employment Security

P.O. Box 59, Jefferson City, MO  65104-0059

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION LAW
Roles and Responsibilities for Employers and Employees

EMPLOYEE INFORMATION
The Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) 

administers programs for workers who have been injured 
on the job or exposed to an occupational disease arising 
out of and in the course of employment. The Division’s 
Administrative Law Judges have the authority to approve settlements or issue 
awards after a hearing relating to an injured employee’s entitlement to benefits.

Steps to Take When Injured on the Job
1. Notify your employer immediately (written notice must be provided 

within 30 days of the injury/or 30 days when reasonably aware of the 
work-relatedness of occupational illness or disease) by contacting 

,  .

*Failure to do so may jeopardize your ability to receive benefits
2. Seek medical attention (your employer/insurer is responsible for 

providing medical treatment and paying the medical fees and charges 
unless you choose to treat with another doctor at your own expense 
without your employer/insurer’s approval).

3. Get more information about the benefits available under the Workers’ 
Compensation Program or about the steps you may take to get the benefits 
you need.

Visit www.labor.mo.gov/DWC or call (800) 775-COMP(2667)
Benefits for Injured Employees Medical Care:

The employer or insurer is required to provide medical treatment and care to 
cure and relieve the effects of the injury. This includes all costs for authorized 
medical treatment, prescriptions, and medical devices. There is no deductible, 
and all costs are paid by the employer or its workers’ compensation insurance 
company. If you receive a bill, contact your employer or the insurance 
company immediately. The employer/insurer has the right to choose the 
healthcare provider or treating physician. You may select a different healthcare 
provider or treating physician, but if you do so, it may be at your own expense.

Payment for Lost Wages:
•	 If a doctor says you are unable to work due to your injuries or recovery 

from a surgery, you may be entitled to temporary total disability (TTD) 
benefits. If a doctor says that you can perform light or modified duty work 
and your employer offers you such work, you may not be eligible for TTD 
benefits. TTD benefits should be continued until the doctor says you 
can return to work, or when your treatment is concluded because your 
condition has reached “maximum medical improvement,” whichever occurs 
first.

•	 If you return to light or modified duty at less than full pay, you may be 
entitled to temporary partial disability benefits.

Permanent Disability Benefits:
If the injury or illness results in a permanent disability, you may be entitled to 

receive either permanent partial or permanent total disability benefits.

Survivor Benefits: 
If an employee dies on the job, the surviving dependents may receive 

weekly death benefits paid at 66⅔% of the deceased employee’s average 
weekly wage for the year immediately preceding the injury, along with funeral 
expenses up to $5,000 from the employer/insurer. For additional information 
relating to survivor’s benefits, including college scholarship opportunities for 
surviving children, please visit www.labor.mo.gov/DWC. 

EMPLOYER INFORMATION

With some exceptions, all employers with five or more employees, and 
construction industry employers with one or more employees, are required to 
insure their workers’ compensation liability, either by purchasing a policy or 
obtaining self-insurance authority. Workers’ compensation insurance provides 
benefits to workers injured on the job. Employers also are required to post 
this notice in the workplace for employees to view. This poster is required by 
Section 287.127, RSMo, and is available to employers and insurers free of 
charge by contacting the Division at (800) 775-COMP (2667).

Steps to Take When an Injury Occurs
1. Be sure first aid is administered and the employee is taken to a physician or 

hospital for further medical care, if necessary.

WC-106 (02-14)

employer representative		            phone number

2. Report the injury to the insurance company or Third Party Administrator 
(TPA) within five days of the date of injury or within five days of the date on 
which the injury was reported to the employer by the employee, whichever is 
later. The insurer, TPA, or admitted self-insurer is responsible of filing a First 
Report of Injury with the Division of Workers’ Compensation within 30 days 
of knowledge of the injury.

3. Pay medical bills related to the work injury to cure and relieve the employee 
of the effects of the injury. This includes all costs for authorized medical 
treatment, prescriptions, and medical devices. The employer/insurer has the 
right to choose the healthcare provider or treating physician. (The employee 
may select a different healthcare provider or treating physician, but if the 
employee does so, it may be at his/her own expense.)

4. For more liability and insurance information relating to the Workers’ 
Compensation Program, visit www.labor.mo.gov/DWC or call (800) 775-
COMP (2667).

Workers’ Safety
Developing and implementing a comprehensive safety and health program 
can reduce occupational injuries and help lower workers’ compensation costs. 
Insurance carriers in the state of Missouri must provide safety assistance 
at the request of the insured employer. The Missouri Department of Labor 
evaluates these services and provides additional assistance through its 
Missouri Workers’ Safety Program. Visit www.labor.mo.gov/MWSP or call 
(573) 751-4231 for more information about these programs or for a registry of 
independent consultants who are certified in the state of Missouri to provide 
safety assistance.

Fraud/Noncompliance

Employee Fraud – knowingly making a claim for workers’ 

compensation benefits to which an employee knows he/she is not entitled or 
knowingly presenting multiple claims for the same occurrence is a class D 
felony, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000, or double the value of the fraud, 
whichever is greater. A subsequent violation is a class C felony. 

Employer Fraud – knowingly misrepresenting an employee’s job 
classification to obtain insurance at less than the proper rate is a class A 
misdemeanor. A subsequent violation is a class D felony. An employer who 
knowingly makes a false or fraudulent statement regarding an employee’s 
entitlement to benefits to discourage the worker from making a legitimate claim 
or who knowingly makes a false or fraudulent material statement or material 
representation to deny benefits to a worker is guilty of a class A misdemeanor 
punishable by a fine of up to $10,000. A subsequent violation is a class C felony.

Insurer Fraud – knowingly and intentionally refusing to comply with 
workers’ compensation obligations to which an insurance company or self-
insurer knows an employee is entitled is a class D felony, punishable by a 
fine of up to $10,000 or double the value of the fraud, whichever is greater. A 
subsequent violation is a class C felony.

Employer Noncompliance – knowingly failing to insure 

workers’ compensation liability under the law is a class A misdemeanor 

punishable by a fine of up to three times the annual premium the employer 

would have paid had it been insured or up to $50,000, whichever is greater. 

A subsequent violation is a class D felony. An employer who willfully fails to 

post the notice of workers’ compensation at the workplace is guilty of a class A 

misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $50 or $1,000 or by imprisonment or both 

fine and imprisonment.

Missouri Department of Labor & Industrial Relations
Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation

P.O. Box 58, Jefferson City, MO  65102-0058 • Phone: (573) 751-4231

DISCRIMINATION IN EMPLOYMENT IS PROHIBITED
www.labor.mo.gov/mohumanrights

THE MISSOURI HUMAN RIGHTS ACT MAKES IT ILLEGAL—
... to discriminate in any aspect of employment because of an individual’s race, color, religion, 
national origin, ancestry, sex, disability or age (40 through 69). Discriminatory employment practices 
prohibited by the Missouri Human Rights Act include: 

•	 Hiring and firing, compensation, assignment or classification 
of employees, transfer, promotion, layoff or recall, job  
advertisements, recruitment, testing, use of company facilities,  
training and apprenticeship programs, fringe benefits, pay,  
retirement plans, or disability leave, or other terms and 
conditions of employment;

•	 Harassment on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, 
ancestry, sex, disability, or age;

•	 Retaliating against an individual for filing a complaint of  
discrimination, participating in an investigation or hearing,  
or opposing discriminatory practices;

•	 Discriminating in any aspect of employment against an individual  
because of his or her association with a person in one of the  
protected categories. 

An employment agency includes any person or agency, public or private, regularly 
undertaking with or without compensation to procure employees for an employer or to 
procure employees opportunities to work for an employer.

Missouri Commission on Human Rights (MCHR)
3315 W. Truman Blvd., Suite 212
Jefferson City, MO  65102-1129

(573) 751-3325

“The mission of the MCHR is to develop, recommend and 
implement ways to prevent and eliminate discrimination, and to 
provide equitable and timely resolutions of discrimination claims 
through enforcement of the Missouri Human Rights Act.”   

STATE REGULATION 8 CSR 60-3.010 REQUIRES THIS NOTICE BE POSTED IN ALL 
PLACES OF BUSINESS OR ESTABLISHMENTS WHICH ARE 

SUBJECT TO THE MISSOURI HUMAN RIGHTS ACT. 

Toll-Free Discrimination Complaint Hotline: 
(877) 781-4236

Relay Missouri: 711

Missouri’s Human Rights Act applies to: 
•	Private employers with six or more employees;
•	All apprenticeship or training programs;
•	All labor organizations;
•	All employment agencies;
•	All state and local government agencies.

Take Action–File a Complaint
If you believe you have been discriminated against in 
employment, you can file a complaint of discrimination by 
calling one of the numbers below or emailing  
MCHR@labor.mo.gov. Complaints must be filed  
within 180 days of the alleged discrimination.
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DISCRIMINATION IN PLACES OF 
PUBLIC ACCOMMODATION IS PROHIBITED

www.labor.mo.gov/mohumanrights

THE MISSOURI HUMAN RIGHTS ACT MAKES IT ILLEGAL—

... for places of public accommodation to deny access to or treat someone unequally because of an individual’s race, color, 
religion, national origin, ancestry, sex, or disability. 

Places of public accommodation include all places or businesses offering or holding out to the general public, goods, services, 
privileges, facilities, advantages, or accommodations for the peace, comfort, health, welfare, and safety of the general public or such 
public places providing food, shelter, recreation and amusement. Section 213.010(15), RSMo.

Places of public accommodation  include but are not limited to restaurants, bars, retail stores, movie theaters, gas stations, schools, 
sports stadiums, hotels, motels, and state, county or city facilities.

Discriminatory practices prohibited by the Missouri Human Rights Act in places of public 
accommodation include: 

•	 Refusing to provide service;
•	 Being inaccessible to a person with a disability;
•	 Setting different terms or conditions for services or facilities;
•	 Failing to reasonably accommodate an individual’s disability to allow him or her to use and enjoy the place of public accommodation;
•	 Failing to provide adequate disabled-accessible parking spaces;
•	 Failing to provide an accessible public restroom;  
•	 Failing to provide an accessible entrance.

It is illegal for anyone, for any of the above reasons, to deny access to or treat someone unequally in “places of public accommodation.”
The accessibility requirements for places of public accommodations can be found at http://www.access-board.gov/ada/.

Missouri Commission on Human Rights (MCHR)
3315 W. Truman Blvd., Suite 212
Jefferson City, MO  65102-1129

(573) 751-3325

“The mission of the MCHR is to develop, recommend, and 
implement ways to prevent and eliminate discrimination, and to 
provide equitable and timely resolutions of discrimination claims 
through enforcement of the Missouri Human Rights Act.”   

STATE REGULATION 8 CSR 60-3.010 REQUIRES THAT THIS NOTICE BE POSTED 
IN ALL PLACES OF BUSINESS OR ESTABLISHMENTS WHICH ARE 

SUBJECT TO THE MISSOURI HUMAN RIGHTS ACT. 

Toll-Free Discrimination Complaint Hotline: 
(877) 781-4236

Relay Missouri: 711

Take Action–File a Complaint
If you believe you have been discriminated against by a 
place of public accommodation, you can file a complaint of 
discrimination by calling one of the numbers below or emailing 
MCHR@labor.mo.gov. Complaints must be filed within 180 
days of the alleged discrimination.

MCHR-7 (11-12)

day, seven days a week. 
You may call a Regional Claims Center for assistance Monday through 

Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Automated information about a claim already filed is 
available by phone, 24 hours a day, at the numbers below.

Local numbers are: 	
Jefferson City:	 (573) 751-9040	 Kansas City: 	 (816) 889-3101	
Springfield:	 (417) 895-6851	 St. Louis: 	 (314) 340-4950
If you are outside the above local calling areas: (800) 320-2519

Insurance Company, Third 
Party Administrator, Service 
Company, or Designated 
Individual If Self-Insured

Name 
Address 

Phone 

Employers: To learn about the National Career Readiness 
Certificate call (573) 522-2744 or email NCRC@ded.mo.gov.

IMPORTANT: If needed, call (573) 751-9040 for assistance in the translation and understanding of the infomation in this document.
¡IMPORTANTE!: Si es necesario, llame al (573) 751-9040 para asistencia en la traducción y entendimiento de la infomación en este documento.
Missouri Division of Employment Security is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals 
with disabilities. Missouri TTY Users can call (800) 735-2966 or dial 7-1-1.

Missouri Division of Employment Security is an equal opportunity employer/
program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals 
with disabilities. Missouri TTY Users can call (800) 735-2966 or dial 7-1-1.

Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

$7.65


